Kerry Washington, Lena Waithe, & Maitreyi Ramakrishnan Among Gracie Awards Honorees

Kerry Washington, Lena Waithe, and Maitreyi Ramakrishnan are among the dozens of women set to be honored by the Alliance for Women in Media Foundation at the 2021 Annual Gracie Awards. Slated to take place September 27 in Los Angeles, the event, now in its 46th edition, “honors women working in television, radio and digital media along with entertainment and news programs created by women that address timely topics and social issues,” The Hollywood Reporter details. 

“Scandal” alumna Kerry Washington is taking home the prize for Actress in a Leading Role – Made for TV Movie or Limited Series for “Little Fires Everywhere,” Hulu’s adaptation of Celeste Ng’s best-selling novel.

Waithe landed the honor for Writer Scripted – Drama for “The Chi,” the TBS coming-of-age story that she also created.

Ramakrishnan is being recognized as Actress in a Breakthrough Role – Comedy for “Never Have I Ever,” Mindy Kaling’s Netflix series about an Indian-American highschooler.

“Throughout this important year, we have enjoyed some of the most compelling content in our history. We were informed, enlightened and entertained by women in media across all platforms,” said Becky Brooks, president of the Alliance for Women in Media Foundation.  “As we celebrate AWM’s 70th anniversary, we are thrilled to honor this incredible group of women who have demonstrated their commitment to sharing emotionally charged, timely and compelling content. We look forward to reconvening in person to recognize these incredible achievements and brave storytelling.”

Head over to The Hollywood Reporter to check out all of the honorees, which include Hillary Rodham Clinton and Kelly Clarkson, among others.

Related Articles


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button